Font Size » + | -

From October 5-7, 2018, First Church of the Open Bible in Des Moines, Iowa, celebrated 90 years of faithful ministry that extends from Des Moines to the whole world.

Events included a Night of Worship Friday evening, led by current and former worship leaders, and a prophetic word from former Open Bible President Jeff Farmer. Saturday featured historic tours of the renovated former site of First Church at 19th and Crocker, the Butler mansion on the former Open Bible College campus, and the national office as well as a reunion luncheon with former first ladies Marie Smith and Mardell LeLaCheur sharing memories. Sunday’s commemorative worship service was graced with sermons by former First Church pastors Ken Groen and Danny Thomas and current pastor, Spencer Keroff, and special music by a ladies’ quintet and a former associate pastor, Bill Hornback. Worship was led by Pastor Kelly Warner and Jeff Deyo (formerly of Sonic Flood). The church also received honorable commendation from Senator Chuck Grassley via video.

“I am only the seventh pastor to serve as First Church’s lead pastor in its 90-year history,” Spencer said. “I recognize that our legacy and heritage are worth celebrating. I am building on my predecessors’ sacrifices and prayers. And although our past is incredible in terms of faithful Bible-based and Spirit-empowered ministry, our future is even greater…. Seeing many heroes of the faith and former leaders from this church was a great opportunity to cry out to God to touch our church and heal our nation. My consistent prayer is ‘Do it again, Lord!’ Many words of prophecy have been spoken over this place, and we are anticipating their fulfillment as God raises up sons and daughters in the faith.”

About The Author

Open Bible's Publication Since 1920

Since 1920, Message of the Open Bible has been a medium to celebrate all the wonderful things God is doing through His people in Open Bible Churches – from personal testimonies, to news-related stories, to inspirational articles by quality authors.